USGBC Names 2018 Leadership Award Recipients

Chicago— The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) has named the recipients of its 2018 Leadership Awards, an annual recognition of the outstanding individuals and organizations at the forefront of the green building movement.

“The Leadership Awards recognize the power of truly outstanding leadership in the marketplace, and within the green building community,” said Mahesh Ramanujam, president and CEO of USGBC. “Each of the 2018 awardees demonstrate leadership in a different way, and all of them provide examples for others to emulate. Through actions informed by decades of experience, collaboration and partnership, and calculated risk taking, these individuals and companies exemplify the types of leadership that will allow all of us to benefit from a healthier, more prosperous and more sustainable world in the future.”

This year’s winners include George Bandy, Jr., vice president of sustainability and commercial marketing for Mohawk Industries. “George has been an invaluable partner of USGBC’s for more than two decades, working tirelessly to champion green building, set the standard for other businesses to follow and push the market forward,” said Ramanujam. “George has dedicated his entire career to advocating for environmental, economic and socially responsible solutions for customers and championing a sustainable, prosperous and equitable future for all. He is truly a leader among leaders in the green building movement, and we are honored to present him with a 2018 USGBC Leadership Award.”

Bandy is well known for his years of experience in, and deep understanding of, sustainable business practices and corporate social responsibility, the company said. As vice president of sustainability, he leads Mohawk’s sustainability efforts by identifying opportunities to position environmental, economic and socially responsible solutions for both the flooring manufacturer and its customers across various brands and business units.

This year’s winners also include Laurie Kerr, president of LK Policy Lab; Mueller, a sustainable, transit-oriented community three miles from downtown Austin, Texas; Ameren Corporation and S&C Electric Company are the joint recipients of this year’s Robert W. Galvin Award for Performance in Excellence in Electrical Renewal; Nike, Inc. is the recipient of the Ray Anderson Award for Radical Industrialism; and The Ramboland volunteer team is the 2018 recipient of the Malcolm Lewis Impact! Award.

The recipients will be honored at the USGBC Leadership Awards reception taking place November 14, at the Willis Tower, here, during the Greenbuild International Conference and Expo.

Follow by Email